Writer’s Conferences

I’m attending a writer’s conference soon. It’s going to be my 1st… & I’m nervous! I read that it’s normal for us introverted author’s to feel apprehensive- but it doesn’t calm my nerves.

I’m nervous about networking- will the new people I meet find me boorish? Overbearing? Too loud? Too quiet? You never know who you will click with & who won’t like your personality enough to spend the time to get to know you.

I’ve chosen a smaller conference to attend as my 1st so I can dip my toes in cautiously. I’m hoping this will help ease my fear. But meeting new people isn’t what takes my breath away when I think about attending- it’s the one-on-one critique I’ve paid for.

Of course, we all dream of a glowing A+ when we share our work, but the reality is… that’s just not helpful when you’re asking for a professional critique. Even if they find my work to be very good, there’s always room for improvement. I will be told all the things “wrong” & I will value those opinions… I’m just hoping I hear something good, too.

I have complete faith in the professionalism of the editor I’ve chosen, but I lack faith in myself. At this point, I’m just crossing my fingers & taking the plunge.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

relynnvaughnwrites

Musing on Muses, Music, and Writing

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Cherished Habitat Academy

Homeschool with a focus on cherishing our Earth & it's inhabitants.

A Farm Girls Life

Photography, Crafty Things, and Life on the Farm

The New Pioneers

A modern day Green Acres.

BackseatBlogger

spread love, happiness, peace, and JOY!

365 days of kindness

Because the world could use one less asshole.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Curious Hippy

Raw & real mom life.

Sweet and Simple Life

A lifestyle blog for the minimalist mom

Bunny and the Guy

The Balancing Act of Family Life

The Other Johnsons

Embracing the realities of life with honesty, wit, and my blue-eyed girl

Write. Blog. Connect.

Where writers and readers connect.

larinnachandler

Life Lessons from Author Larinna Chandler

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

